LibGuides: Hunterdon County History: Microfilm at HCLS

Using the Collection

The microfilm collection is available at Headquarters Library during regular library hours:

Monday to Thursday: 9am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday: 9am to 5pm
Select Sundays: 1pm to 5pm

PLEASE CALL AHEAD OF TIME TO RESERVE THE USE OF THE MICROFILM READER.

Please see an Adult Services librarian for assistance in using the new microfilm reader. You will need your library barcode number and PIN (or request a guest pass) in order to use the machine. If you wish to save digital copies from the microfilm, please bring a USB thumb drive.

ScanPro 3000 User Guide
Detailed instructions on using the HD microfilm viewer/scanner.

Librarian

Marianne Sievers

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

314 Ste Rte 12, Bldg #3
Flemington, NJ 08822

908-788-1434

5th Census of the United States, 1830: New Jersey 1 microfilm reel
6th Census of the United States, 1840: New Jersey 1 microfilm reel
7th Census of the United States, 1850: New Jersey 1 microfilm reel
8th Census of the United States, 1860: New Jersey 2 microfilm reels
9th Census of the United States, 1870: New Jersey 2 microfilm reels
10th Census of the United States, 1880: New Jersey 1 microfilm reel
12th Census of the United States, 1900: New Jersey 2 microfilm reels
13th Census of the United States, 1910:New Jersey 1 microfilm reel
14th Census of the United States, 1920: New Jersey 2 microfilm reels
15th Census of the United States, 1930: New Jersey 1 microfilm reel
Archival Index Cards compiled by Phyllis B. D'Autrechy 5 microfilm reels Consists of microfilmed index cards showing entries from records at the county clerk's office and the surrogate's office. Each index card includes a person's name and the record book and page number. Hunterdon County Library does not hold the records themselves. reel 1. Abbe, Thomas - Culver, Morris -- reel 2. Culver, William W. - Hoyt, David -- reel 3. Hubbard, Francis - Opdycke, William -- reel 4. Oppenheimer, Henry - Stout, Anna -- reel 5. Stout, Asher - Zule, William, Jr. Covers: Deeds filed subject to return (1798-1849); deeds filed subject to return (1844-1862); jurors (to 1800) from miscellaneous records; case daybook (1806-1807); militia papers (1806-1818); peddlers' licenses (1763-1879); Hunterdon County court docket book (1739-1740); original mortgages (1798-1913); original deeds (1768-1802); certiorai and paupers appeals (1841-1898); indictments (1754-1850), female defendants who were excluded from the WPA index, and any other obvious family relationships; coroners inquests (1763-1909), name of deceased.
Archival Index Cards II/ Work Projects Administration 6 microfilm reels Consists of microfilmed index cards showing entries from records at the county clerk's office and the surrogate's office. Each index card includes a person's name and the record book and page number. Hunterdon County Library does not hold the records themselves. reel 6. Aaronson, Joseph J. - Cook, William S. -- reel 7. Cooke, Charles - Harsel, Jocab -- reel. 8. Hart, Aaron - Maberry, Thomas C. -- reel. 9. McAdoo, John - Rockafellow, William S. -- reel. 10. Rockaway Reformed Dutch Church - Tyson, Wilson L. -- reel 11. Udy, John - Zule, William. Covers: Miscellaneous records (1752-1898); Affidavits (1754-1874); Liens (1835-1869); Recognizances (1755-1907); Insolvent petitions (1761-1877); Appeals (1752-1973); Indictments (1754-1905).
Clinton Democrat (aka Constitutional Democrat) 12 microfilm reels Reel 1 includes Constitutional democrat. Reels for Dec. 11, 1902 through Sept. 24, 1914 called "Twice a Week Clinton Democrat." reel 1. May 16, 1868-Dec. 29, 1871 -- reel 2. Jan. 5, 1872-Dec. 31, 1875 -- reel 3. Jan. 7, 1876-Dec. 28, 1877 -- reel 4. Jan. 4, 1878-Dec. 26, 1879 -- reel 5. Jan. 2, 1880-Dec. 30, 1881 -- reel 6. Jan. 6, 1882-May 28, 1886 -- reel 7. June 4, 1886-Nov. 17, 1887 -- reel 8. Nov. 24, 1887-Nov. 24, 1892 -- reel 9. Jan. 16, 1890-Dec. 31, 1891 -- reel 10. Dec. 1, 1892-Oct. 15, 1896 -- reel 11. Oct. 22, 1896-Nov. 23, 1899 -- reel 12. Nov. 30, 1899-Dec. 4, 1902. reel 13. Dec. 11, 1902-Dec. 27, 1904 -- reel 14. Dec. 23, 1904-June 22, 1906 -- reel 15. June 22, 1906-Dec. 31, 1907 -- reel 16. Jan. 7, 1908-July 2, 1909 -- reel 17. July 9, 1909-Nov. 15, 1910 -- reel 18. Nov. 18, 1910-July 19, 1912 -- reel 19. July 23, 1912-Sep. 24, 1914 -- reel 20. Oct. 1, 1914-July 12, 1917 -- reel 21. July 19, 1917-Feb. 12, 1920 -- reel 22. Feb. 19, 1920-Oct. 26, 1922.
Hauptmann Trial Transcripts 3 microfilm reels reel 1. pages 1-2277 -- reel 2. pages 2278-4320 -- reel 3. pages 4321-4649
History of Hunterdon and Somerset Counties, New Jersey, with Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of its Prominent Men and Pioneers 2 microfilm reels A scanned copy of the 1881 book by James P. Snell
Hunterdon County Court of Common Pleas Minute Books, 1714-1908 12 reels of microfilm Reel 1. vols. 1-3, 1714-1733 -- reel 2. vols. 4-7, 1733-1756 -- reel 3. vols. 8-10, 1756-1767 -- reel 4. vols. 11-13, 1767-1788 -- reel 5. vols. 14-15, 1789-1800 -- reel 6. vols. 16-18, 1800-1811 -- reel 7. vols. 19-21, 1811-1821 -- reel 8. vols. 22-24, 1821-1839 -- reel 9. vols. 25-27, 1834-1839 -- reel 10. vols. 28, 29 & 31, 1840-1862 -- reel 11. vols. 32-34, 1862-1879 -- reel 12. vols. 35-37, 1879-1908
Hunterdon County Democrat 246 microfilm reels Covers September 1838 thru September 2008 Missing June 1968 thru October 1968 and June 1975 thru October 1975
Hunterdon County Republican (aka Hunterdon Republican) 36 microfilm reels Covers July 1867 thru December 1950; missing February 1916 thru December 1917
Hunterdon Gazette (aka Hunterdon Gazette & Farmers Advertiser) 7 microfilm reels Covers March 1825 thru March 1843 and September 1853 thru July 1866
Hunterdon Review (aka The High Bridge Gazette) 16 microfilm reels January 1970 thru December 1991
Index to Marriages, 1670-1840 2 microfilm reels reel 1. Aakins to Thompson -- reel 2. Thompson to Zutphin
Marriage Licenses (Bonds), 1711-1797 8 microfilm reels reel 1. vols. A, B-1, B-2, C-1 -- reel 2. vols. C-2, D, E, F -- reel 3. vols. G, H-1, H-2 -- reel 4. vols. I, J, K, L-1, L-2, M (to page 310) -- reel 5. vols. M (page 311-), N, O, P, Q, R -- reel 6. vols. S-1, S-2, S-3, T -- reel 7. vols. U, V-1, V-2, W-1, W-2, Y, Z & vol. 1747-1748 -- reel 8. vol. A-W, 1747-1762 & vol. 1727-1734
New Jersey State Census, 1850: Social Statistics 1 microfilm reel
New Jersey State Census, 1855: Hunterdon, Hudson, Monmouth, Morris 1 microfilm reel
New Jersey State Census, 1865: Cumberland, Gloucester, Hudson, and Hunterdon Counties 1 microfilm reel
New Jersey State Census, 1885: Hunterdon County: Alexandria Twp thru Tewksbury Twp 1 microfilm reel
more...less...
Does not include Union or West Amwell Townships
New Jersey State Census, 1895: Hunterdon County: Alexandria Twp thru West Amwell Twp 1 microfilm reel
New Jersey State Census, 1905: Hunterdon County: Alexandria Twp thru West Amwell Twp 1 microfilm reel
New Jersey State Census, 1915: Hunterdon County: Alexandria to West Amwell 1 microfilm reel
New Jersey State Census: Agricultural Census 4 microfilm reels reel 1. New Jersey state census, 1850 agricultural census: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, and Mercer counties -- reel 2. New Jersey state census, 1860 U.S. agricultural census: Atlantic, Mercer County -- reel 3. New Jersey state census, 1870 U.S. agricultural census: Hudson, Morris counties -- reel 4. New Jersey state census, 1880 agricultural census: Gloucester, Mercer (part) counties.
New Jersey State Census: Products of Industry 2 microfilm reels reel 1. New Jersey state census, 1870: item 1, Products of industry schedules: Atlantic-Camden counties; item 2, Social statistics: Atlantic-Warren counties; item 3, Products of industry -- reel 2. New Jersey state census, 1880: Products of industry: Hunterdon-Warren counties.
New York Times 83 microfilm reels 1935, 1941, and November - December 1963
Special Enumeration of Union Veterans and Widows, 1890 1 microfilm reel
Surrogate archival index cards: Hunterdon County Cultural & Heritage Commission; compiled by Phyllis B. D'Autrechy. 5 microfilm reels reel 12. Aaron - Fitzpatrick, Bryan -- reel 13. Flanagan, James - McFerson, William -- reel 14. McGee, Hugh - Smith, Ezekiel, Sr. -- reel 15. Smith, Ferdinand - Zule, William, Dr. -- reel 18. Abortion A-Z - Occupation-Wood cutter. Covers: Miscellaneous estate papers (1753-1971); Unsettled accounts (1800-1818); Miscellaneous documents (1785-1894); Copies of accounts (1818-1885); Divisions of lands (1815-1876); Dockets; Will books; Hunterdon Gazette (1845-1864); Inventory books; Hill, Abel, Boss daybook (1869); Guardianships of minors and lunatics (1798-1909); Miscellaneous subject information from various records, including black history, mills, murders, war records, and occupations.
more...less...
Companion vols to: Archival index cards, Archival index cards II, and Tavern licenses archival index cards.
Consists of microfilmed index cards showing entries from records at the county clerk's office and the surrogate's office. Each index card includes a person's name and the record book and page number. Hunterdon County Library does not hold the records themselves.
Some surveyors' cards on reel 18 are filmed upside down.
Tavern Licenses Archival Index Cards 2 microfilm reels reel 16. Abbott, Elias - Moore, Wm. S. -- reel 17. Moran, Anthony - Zule/Zuile/Zuele, John. Covers: all names (original signatures) on tavern license applications (1786-1908); includes date of application, location by township, and description.
more...less...
Companion vols to: Archival index cards, Archival index cards II, and Surrogate archival index cards.
Consists of microfilmed index cards showing entries from records at the county clerk's office and the surrogate's office. Each index card includes a person's name and the record book and page number. Hunterdon County Library does not hold the records themselves.